Build Relationships for Success in Business

I came upon an article today on the website, .Inc that resonated with me. The article was 10 Great Habits of Charismatic People by Jeff Haden.  Have you ever stopped to think about what it is about charismatic individuals that make them charismatic? Hmmm.   Rather surprisingly, it’s not all about having good looks although being physically attractive certainly  doesn’t hurt.  In fact, you may find that good looking folks are not necessarily charismatic.

According to the referenced article, personality probably trumps good looks in the charisma department.  Rather, charisma is about taking a keen interest in others. They are good listeners. They are not solely focused on themselves and tend to be humble. Above all, they like to make others feel good about themselves.  In my opinion, the last bit is paramount.

How is this relevant to being a small business owner or someone pursuing a career?  We all need to establish and build relationships to be successful. In business, it’s about focusing on the customer and being interested in his or her needs.

Similarly, whether you are looking for a job or you wish to be successful on a job, one needs to focus on building relationships.  In the book, “I Got My Dream Job and So Can You”, the author, Peter Leibman says, “Stop Looking for Jobs and Focus on People”.  This simple statement really clicked with me. I have long believed, in order to be successful on the job, the most important element is getting along with people (although you also have to know your stuff).

So, focus less on yourself and develop a greater interest in others!

About suzanne kaller

Business Librarian at Arapahoe Library District in the suburbs of Denver, Colorado. Engaged in business outreach and general reference serv

Posted on August 13, 2012, in business, Entrepreneurship, Jobs and Careers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Hi webmaster, your “Build Relationships for Success in Business Your*Career*Your*business Blog” website was exactly what I was searching for but you were not on the first page of search results. I bet you could get a lot more traffic if you were ranked higher. I found another website which helped me get my websites on the first page and drove a lot of traffic to my site: http://venueseo.com/7-day-free-trial. I now get close to 1,000 visitors per day after subscribing. I hope this helps 🙂

  2. Everything posted was very reasonable. But, what about this?
    what if you added a little content? I ain’t saying your content isn’t good, but suppose you added a post title that
    grabbed a person’s attention? I mean Build Relationships for Success in Business | Your*Career*Your*business Blog is a little vanilla. You should look at Yahoo’s home page
    and note how they create news titles to get viewers interested.

    You might add a video or a pic or two to get readers excited about what
    you’ve got to say. In my opinion, it could make your blog a little livelier.

  3. Wow! In the end I got a weblog from where
    I can really get useful data regarding my study and knowledge.

  4. It’s an amazing article for all the web users; they will take advantage from it I am sure.

Leave a Reply

