Your Resume as a Dynamic Marketing Piece

Before PC’s became readily accessible, job seekers would have resumes printed by professional print shops on pricey stationery.  Given the expense, that document would be sent out over and over again. It probably would be updated only when the copies on hand were exhausted or due to a material event.

Not anymore.  In today’s electronic world, not only should a resume be current it should be tailored for the job position in consideration. Therefore,  a resume should no longer be regarded as a static document.  To me,  it makes a lot of sense. Think of yourself as an HR manager having to review hundreds of job applications and resumes. Would you be inclined to analyze a host of generic resumes trying to figure out if it fits what you are looking for?  Probably not.  A ” one size fits all”  also gives  the impression that the job seeker is simply sending out resumes to everything in sight hoping that one of them might just “stick on the wall” somewhere.

Although not everyone is apt to agree with me, I feel that an objective statement at the top indicating the type of position desired (such as a software engineer, teacher, or electrician, etc.) is a good thing.  To me, it frames the resume and sets the stage for the sections of text that follow.

Of course, aim to mirror the keywords expressed in the job description or job posting.  That’s a given.   I would read through your existing resume focusing on which elements or points are still relevant.  Where possible, I would address each accomplishment and/or skill to see if each one could be modified or augmented to fit, inserting keywords used in the industry.  If you need help, public libraries offer a host of resume books that showcase resumes for different job positions, industries and varying levels of experience and situations.  In addition, the web site, careeronestop, contains a database of occupations with descriptions of required skills, knowledge, education, likely tasks, activities.  It’s a useful aid when preparing or updating a resume.

Lastly, don’t be afraid to try out different resumes.  Whichever one gets the interview and the job will be the right one.

 

About suzanne kaller

Business Librarian at Arapahoe Library District in the suburbs of Denver, Colorado. Engaged in business outreach and general reference serv

Posted on July 20, 2012, in Jobs and Careers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. An impressive share, I gave your link to a co worker who was doing a little analysis on this topic. And he bought me breakfast because I found it for him.. smiling. So let me rephrase that : Thnx for the treat! But yeah Thnkx for spending the time to discuss this, I feel strongly about it and love reading more on this topic. If possible, would you mind updating the blog with more details? It is highly helpful for me. Big thumb up for this blog post!.

    • suzanne kaller

      I’m happy to hear you got a free breakfast! Plus, I’m glad I was able to help your co-worker. I’m not sure what you mean by upding my blog with more details. Thanks, Suzanne.

  2. I’ve gone ahead and bookmarked https://yourcareeryourbusiness.wordpress.com/2012/07/20/your-resume-as-a-dynamic-marketing-piece/ at Digg.com so my friends can see it too. I simply used Your Resume as a Dynamic Marketing Piece Your*Career*Your*business Blog as the entry title in my Digg.com bookmark, as I figured if it is good enough for you to title your blog post that, then you probably would like to see it bookmarked the same way.

  3. thank you for sharing, hope you can update more and better stories.http://www.ecadastro.com.br

  4. I discovered your blog on google and check out a few of your early posts. Continue with the very good posts. Ill likely be by again to read more, thanks for the information!.

  5. Wonderful high quality content here. Absolutely nothing but the very best. I actually like it.

  6. amazing! i delight in reading this sort of stuff everytime i can get to the computer

Leave a Reply

