Social Networks Make Finding a Job Easier

The easiet way to get a job has always been about networking.  We used to call it “connections.”  But, how many people in this world have great connections – from a rich dad or uncle?

Before the age of the Internet,  most people looking for jobs would apply to listings they found in the classifieds or register with employment agencies or recruiters.  It was a rather passive approach and depending upon the vibrance of the market, it could be slow going. By the time a job would find its way into a newsaper column, the applicant could be competing against a cast of hundreds.

A recruiter advised me years ago to get on the phone and call away.  So, I created lists of companies and contacts from directories I found in the library. Even though I wasn’t meeting the person face-to-face, it sure felt scary.  Early in my career, I called Time Inc in New York, expecting to get the executive secretary on the phone but I reached the company treasurer instead.  Imagine, he didn’t even bite my head off.  It really caught me by surprise though.

During my days of cold calling, I actually found some nice people on the phone.  They agreed to meet with me, provide some words of advice and maybe even a lead for a job or two.  No one bit my head off.

With social networking, it doesn’t have to be so intimidating. LinkedIn is a great medium to find contacts.  By searching by job title/description and geographic location, potential contacts are only a click away.  If you have already built up a sizable network, you might find that those contacts are well within reach.  Otherwise, if wouldn’t be too difficult to contact people the old-fashioned way.

So, get out there and network!

About suzanne kaller

Business Librarian at Arapahoe Library District in the suburbs of Denver, Colorado. Engaged in business outreach and general reference serv

Posted on July 20, 2009, in Jobs and Careers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

